Golden Bacalhau

My Portuguese teacher braves my cooking

My Portuguese teacher braves my cooking

Pode ler Bacalhau Dourado em Português

Last summer I had my favourite version of bacalhau yet, at the Restaurante Beiro Rio, in Tua on the Douro River east of Pinhão.  I asked my colleague the name of the dish and how it was made, and he said it was Bacalhau Dourado – Golden Bacalhau – a mixture of potato, bacalhau, onion and beaten egg cooked with lots of olive oil (like most Portuguese cuisine!).  Finally, one afternoon last autumn, I decided to try making it myself.

The bacalhau takes its final swim

The bacalhau takes its final swim

Add the beaten eggs to the sauté

Add the beaten eggs to the sauté

Faithful readers may recall the bacalhau – a dried salted cod – which I received at Christmas 2011.  I soaked it over the holidays to remove all the salt, had to ask my butcher to cut it up for me, and in the end stored the prepared pieces in the freezer for future use.   So, one night I took a few pieces out of the freezer to defrost, and got ready to cook the following day.

The ingredients are few and simple, basics that no Portuguese kitchen would be without:  bacalhau, potatoes, an onion, eggs, olive oil and olives.

I did not have a recipe (I have a TV cookery show book “65 Recipes for Bacalhau” – but not this recipe!) so I had to take my chances from memory.  The first step is to poach the bacalhau and then leave it to cool.  When you can handle it without burning your fingers, remove the skin and bones and shred the meat.

The next step is to peel the potatoes and cut them in matchsticks, fry them, and leave them to the side.  I put them on a tray in the oven to stay warm, and forgot all about them till the last minute, but luckily they were not burnt.

Next, cut a good sized onion in half, then in half-circle slices, and set aside.

Whisk together your eggs as if for scrambled eggs, and set aside.

Tastes better than it looks, promise!

Tastes better than it looks, promise!

Now we get to the exciting part.  Saute the onions in olive oil and add the bacalhau and the matchstick potatoes.  Mix them together, cook till a bit golden (you may need more olive oil) and finally, pour in the raw egg mixture.  Continue to mix and cook until the egg coats everything and has cooked as you like it.

Serve it forth to friends adorned with a few olives, possibly a drizzle of olive oil, and enjoy!

About Cynthia

Free lance wine writer based in Vila Nova de Gaia, Portugal
This entry was posted in Cookery, Food, in English. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Golden Bacalhau

  1. Pingback: Bacalhau Dourado | Wine, Woman, Travel

  2. mickysantos says:

    Okay, stop making me hungry, will you?

  3. Isabel says:

    tempting….

Comments are closed.